Big Bang

Are you a Phenomenal Woman?

Posted on: October 29, 2009

For my Blog assignment  Ive being working on a Poem that Has been very Popular to a lot of woman around the world, this poem is call “phenomenal Woman” written by Maya Angelou this poem had caught my attention in the 1993 movie “Poetic Justice” I have been working with to movie and poem in relation to my theme, the reason why i choose this poem is because it speaks the truth and it has inspired alot of woman around the world. I so amazed at how one person can reach and inspire woman to apprepicate who and what the are wheather big, small, black or white.

here are some videos that have inspired woman to sing, dance and express this poem in there own way. let me know what you think! =)

Amy Sky “Phenomenal Woman”

Dance Edge 2007 “Phenomenal Woman”

“Phenomenal Woman…”

 

3 Responses to "Are you a Phenomenal Woman?"

phenomenal woman= angela mislela

“i say its the fire in my thighs”….

Very powerful words from Maya Angelou. So many people are obsessed with looks and weight in the modern society and she brings us back down to reality. There are so many aspects to what a “real woman” is and like Angelou says, its not about suiting a fashion model size. “Its in the reach of my arms, the span of my hips, the stride of my steps and the curl of my lips.”
A woman has pride, confidence, personality…its not what we see in the magazines or on cat walks.
You can see how a woman such as this girl in the video would be affected by what is percieved to be a women in todays society, but she finds confidence in Angelou’s words…they speak honesty and truth, and thats uplifting.

This is lovely Angela. I love it. Tis so true.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • lanas1: This is lovely Angela. I love it. Tis so true.
  • joan: Very powerful words from Maya Angelou. So many people are obsessed with looks and weight in the modern society and she brings us back down to reality.
  • nonu: phenomenal woman= angela mislela "i say its the fire in my thighs"....

Categories

